top of page


The Staples Award was begun to honor Past President, Herman D. Staples, M.D., the fourth President and a founding member of the American Society for Adolescent Psychiatry. In addition to his full time clinical practice, academic, and community contributions, Dr. Staples and his wife, Mary Staples, managed the ASAP operations together for many years. Dr. Staples was, essentially, our first and only Medical Director/CEO to date, until his death in 1995.


This award is given to the ASAP member who embodies Dr. Staples's spirit, integrity and dedication to the treatment of adolescents who has also made noteworthy contributions to ASAP in the past year. The recipient of the 2024 Herman D. Staples, MD Award was Agnes K. Simone, D.O. To learn more about Dr. Simone and her many contributions, please click here.






(*  Deceased)

1997 Sherman Feinstein, MD *

1998 Leonard P. Henschel, MD *

1999 Virgil Cox, MD 

2000 Daniel Offer, MD

2001 Richard A. Ratner, MD

2002 Mark Chenven, MD

2003 Mark A. Wellek, MD

2004 Richard Rosner, MD

2005 Perry B. Bach, MD

2006 Stephen B. Billick, MD

2007 Robert Weinstock, MD

2008 Lois Flaherty, M.D. and Glen T. Pearson, MD

2009 Bertram Slaff, MD *

2010 Frank S. Williams, MD

2011 Dean De Crisce, MD

2012 Frances Roton Bell

2013 Jesse Raley, MD

2014 Gregory Barclay, MD

2015 Lois Flaherty, MD

2016 Sheldon Glass, MD

2017 Manuel Lopez-Leon, MD

2019 Theodore Petti, MD

2020 Matthew Galvin, MD

2021 David Nover, MD

2022 Michael MacIntyre, MD

2023 Stephan Carlson, MD

2024 Agnes K. Simone, DO

Simone with Staples Award.JPG
Agnes K. Simone, D.O.
bottom of page